The 30 Day Video Game Challenge – #3 – First Game You Finished

If there are one series of video games, or video character which installs more nostalgia in me then anything else. It’s got to be Sonic The Hedgehog. Looking back, I’m sure this was the first game that I ever completed. Over the years following I must of completed this game numerous times, explored every inch of every level, had the soundtrack embedded into my mind, my brain, my subconscious, so much so that I’d say the music of this game (as well as the sequels) are an integral part of the soundtrack to my youth. I wouldn’t go as far as to say that this is my favourite sonic game ever (that title goes to Sonic 2 I think, it’s a tough question to answer) but, as one game that illustrates my youth, and installs happiness and nostalgia a-plenty in me. Then look no further then Sonic The Hedgehog on the Mega-Drive/Genesis.

Each zone is an absolute classic. From Green Hill to Spring Yard via Star Light and Labyrinth. Each one is fun, memorable and has replay value in abundance. I’ve actually ended up owning this game on just about every platform i’ve been able to get it on. That’s how much I love the Sonic games.

About djbaroque

I love to play my guitar, I love my music, I love my films, I love to play my video games, I love my friends, I love my work, I love my hobbies... and now, I love to write... Basically... I love life.

Posted on May 3, 2011, in 30 Day Video Game Challenge, Nostalgia, Retro Gaming, Reviews, Uncategorized, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ll be honest, I don’t really remember what was the first game I completed as it was so long ago. I would guess that it was Super Mario Bros. on the NES because it was probably the first game that I played that actually had a legitimate ending.

    • Although… there are only so many times when you can see ‘Sorry, but our princess is in another castle’ without loosing a tiny part of your composure !! Both sonic and mario have lots of replay value though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

